Jump And The Net Will Appear

In two weeks I’ll be leaving the safety and comfort of my family home and moving to New York City. I currently have no place no live, no job lined up, and only a handful of acquaintances there. But I’m really not worried. One of my favorite quotes is “jump and the net will appear.” We always see the pitfalls in the unknown, but everything always turns out fine. Last year, for instance, I decided to take a job straight out of college with a major cruise line with no idea what I had in store for me. I was given a vague description of my job duties (“entertainment team”) and a one way ticket to Vancouver. Without knowing anybody else, without having total confidence in my ability, I took the plunge. And it turned out to be one of the best years of my life, an incredible once in a lifetime opportunity. I visited over fifty countries, made friends from all over the world, and grew more confident in myself and clear on what I wanted out of life.

It would have been easy for me to continue with ship life for years to come. Constantly traveling, meeting interesting new people, watching most of my income just pile up in the bank (free food! free housing! $1 drinks in the crew bar!). But I would just be coasting by in life. A ship in harbor is safe, but that’s not why ships are built… I felt my potential was larger than the ship I was on.  I wanted to do something that mattered more than hosting karaoke or trivia. I’ve known for a few years that I want to be a life coach, so I decided to take my own advice and start actively trying to make my dreams into a reality. I made the most of my experience onboard and got everything out of it that I wanted. I’m grateful for it all, the ups and the downs (believe me, it wasn’t all camel rides and margaritas on the beach). I take the Instagram photos and memories with me as I move on towards the Great Perhaps.

This is the most pivotal life transition yet, because for the first time ever I don’t have a solid plan. The first 22 years of my life were decided for me; pre-school, elementary, high school, university. Then I signed two six month contracts onboard ships, in a sense delaying the inevitable entry into the real world. The future is finally now and I am faced with the decision of what to do next: to do what’s safe, comfortable, and easy, or to take the leap and try to make it in a notoriously unfriendly city.

I won’t lie, it’s super scary. But as Anais Nin wrote: “The day came when the risk to remain tight in a bud was more painful than the risk it took to blossom.” My life is just now beginning. It’s the first chapter of the book of my adult life. Not knowing what the pages will contain makes it fun and exciting. Having the blank pages allows me to consciously create the future I’ve envisioned. It’s the opportunity to put to the test everything I believe about the reality of the universe and the power of our thoughts: We are co-creators of our lives. We choose the outcome and we leave the details and the “hows” up to a higher power. This is what I’ve always believed, and now I’m getting to truly test the waters for the first time. At the end of the day, if I jump and the net doesn’t appear, it’ll just make for a more interesting story.

10 thoughts on “Jump And The Net Will Appear

  1. Wow, this is absolutely inspiring! It truly shows your unique perspective on life and can influence people in a positive way to share that same vision. Despite being very interesting, your view on the situation shows humility. The writing is detail-oriented while still remaining mysterious and of course, left me longing for more! And the quotes… wow! These will stay in my head for many years to come. Bravo, my friend! I am so happy you had such an enchanting experience and even happier you decided to share your gift with us!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Stephen, reading this motivates me to go out and actually achieve my dreams and turn all my hobbies into reality. You have always been so well rounded and you have such a great aura surrounding your soul. Go to NYC and make everything you’ve ever dreamt of become reality, and I know you can do that.

    When I’m feeling down or not myself, I always ask you, ‘What should I read’ ‘What’s a good book’ etc..and you always provide me with thorough and intense web articles and books.

    I can’t wait to see where your journey will take you and I will continue to live vicariously through you, until I build up the courage to sell/drop everything and move to SF or New York (where I want to eventually end up)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Damn, Stephen! “When life gives you lemons, you paint that shit gold.” You’re the kind of person that changes lives, old friend. Can’t wait to see what you paint next.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Stephen…. Anna and I look forward to following your life adventures. It was a pleasure to meet you and we wish you nothing but rainbows and sweet grapes. Just spit our the sour ones and all will be good. Best wishes and please keep in touch. Cheers!

    Like

  5. Omg!!! That was so amazing boo!!! I loved every word you wrote! You are so courageous and I am so proud of you!! You are truly an amazing person and I feel so grateful to have you in my life!!! Spending time with you is always so special. I can’t wait to see you again and make more memories together. You are a wonderful friend and I know your journey will be amazing! Love you and miss you sooo much!!
    Xoxo💝😃

    Like

  6. I love it!! Very inspirational and a great mix of quotes and your personal experiences..hosting trivia and karaoke was super important though and you did a great job – I disagree with you there haha!

    Like

  7. I am so excited to see what the future has in store for you and I can’t wait to read all about it.
    Keep up the amazing work.
    You are truly one of the most interesting people I’ve ever had the pleasure of meeting.
    I miss you lots!
    Let’s get together soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

